Final full fibre NBN upgrades coming to 300,000 Australian homes

NBN Co has unveiled the final tranche of suburbs and towns across Australia which will be able to replace FTTN copper connections with faster full fibre NBN upgrades by the end of next year.

The announcement is the final stage of NBN Co’s commitment to enable another 2 million premises relying on Fibre to the Node to upgrade to Fibre to the Premises by the end of 2023. Eligible customers wanting to upgrade must order a plan based on nbn Home Fast (100 Mbps down, 20 Mbps up) or faster.

Australians living and working in eligible premises within this footprint are expected to be able to order a higher speed service by the end of 2023.

By that time, NBN Co is on track to enable up to 8 million premises across the country to access nbn Home Ultrafast, offering wholesale download speeds of at least 500 Mbps, says chief operating officer Kathrine Dyer.

“We are working to unlock new social and economic benefits by pushing fibre deeper into communities. In addition to the inherent speed benefits offered by Fibre to the Premises, these full fibre connections significantly reduce the number of copper connections in our network,” Dyer says.

“Fibre is inherently more capable of delivering faster upload and download speeds, is generally more reliable than copper connections and reduces our maintenance and operating costs.”

The latest round of full fibre NBN upgrades includes eligible premises in parts of the following suburbs and towns: 

Australian Capital TerritoryAinslie, Braddon, Charnwood, Dunlop, Macgregor, O’Connor*
New South WalesAberglasslyn, Batehaven, Berowra Heights, Bowral, Brookvale, Catalina, Charmhaven, Collaroy, Cooks Hill, Corlette, Corowa, Cowra, Cronulla, Culburra Beach, Deniliquin, Eleebana, Flinders, Griffith, Hamilton South, Hamlyn Terrace, Hillvue, Katoomba, Kooringal, Lake Munmorah, Lambton, Lavington, Lennox Head*, Mardi, Moree, Narara, Noraville, North Albury, Parramatta, Port Kembla, Sanctuary Point, Saratoga, Shoalhaven Heads, Surf Beach, Tweed Heads West, Vincentia, Wagga Wagga, Waratah, Woongarrah, Yamba
VictoriaBairnsdale, Burnside Heights, Capel Sound, Castlemaine, Corio, Crib Point, Delahey, Dromana, East Bendigo, Golden Square, Inverloch, Kennington, Koo Wee Rup, Moe, Newcomb, North Bendigo, Safety Beach, Spring Gully, St Albans Park, Strathdale, Wallan, Wendouree, Whittington
QueenslandAirlie Beach, Aroona, Banksia Beach, Beerwah, Berserker, Bongaree, Bucasia, Buddina, Carindale, Cashmere, Emerald, Gatton, Gracemere, Gympie, Holloways Beach, Kings Beach, Kuluin, Laidley, Little Mountain, Moranbah, Nambour, North Lakes, North Mackay, Peregian Springs, Pimpama, Rasmussen, Reedy Creek, Sandstone Point, Urangan, Wilsonton, Wilsonton Heights, Windaroo
South AustraliaAberfoyle Park, Blakeview, Clearview, Hahndorf, Hallet Cove, Happy Valley, Mount Barker, North Haven, Northfield, Ottoway, Park Holme, Pooraka, Sheidow Park, Willaston, Wingfield, Woodcroft
Western AustraliaAustralind, Beechboro, Beeliar, Bennett Springs, Byford, Camillo, Caversham, Clarkson, Cooloongup, Currambine, Dawesville, Doubleview, Duncraig, Eaton, Hamersley, Hammond Park, Hocking, Iluka, Jandakot, Joondalup, Kardinya, Kinross, Koondoola, Lake Coogee, Leschenault, Madeley, Merriwa, Mindarie, North Beach, Orelia, Parkwood, Parmelia, Piara Waters, Quinns Rock, Success, West Busselton, Wilson, Yangebup
Brighton, Longford, Shearwater, West Ulverston
*Indicates identification of additional footprint in suburbs and towns previously announced.

More NBN news at GadgetGuy.