SingStar – more songs as Universal Music signs on

There’ll be more songs for you to sing/ruin, now that Sony Computer Entertainment has signed a deal with Universal Music. This deal will deliver some of the label’s songs to SingStore, the online store for SingStar on PlayStation 3.

The first batch of songs courtesy of the deal is listed below, and will be downloadable 8 August 2009. It’s a grab bag of genres – from the cheesy “If I Could Turn Back Time” by Cher to the grunge cred of Nirvana’s “Come As You Are”; from the noughties “Somebody Told Me” by The Killers to Lynyrd Skynyrd’s classic Neil Young putdown “Sweet Home Alabama” – not to be confused with Kid Rock’s “All Summer Long”. And kids, if you do download Motorhead’s “Ace of Spades”, be sure to warm up those neck muscles if you want to emulate Lemmy’s microphone work in the song’s old film clip.

And due to what Sony claims is “popular demand from the SingStar community”, the Jackson Five’s “I Want You Back” is available for download right now.

  • If I Could Turn Back Time – Cher
  • Rocket Man (I Think It’s Going To Be A Long Long Time) – Elton John
  • Love Machine – Girls Aloud
  • I Will Survive – Gloria Gaynor
  • The Reason – Hoobastank
  • Ruby – Kaiser Chiefs
  • Everybody’s Changing – Keane
  • Celebration – Kool And The Gang
  • Get It Shawty – Lloyd
  • Sweet Home Alabama – Lynyrd Skynyrd
  • Ace Of Spades – Motorhead
  • Pass The Dutchie – Musical Youth
  • Come As You Are – Nirvana
  • Crazy – Patsy Cline
  • Laura – Scissor Sisters
  • Chasing Cars – Snow Patrol
  • Everybody Wants To Rule The World – Tears For Fears
  • Lovefool – The Cardigans
  • Somebody Told Me – The Killers
  • Don’t Stand So Close To Me – The Police
  • I Think We’re Alone Now – Tiffany